The Buffalo Declaration: Four Alberta CPC MPs demand constitutional change

The Buffalo Declaration: Four Alberta CPC MPs demand constitutional change

Several Conservative Party Members of Parliament have released The Buffalo Declaration demanding the “historically entrenched” and “pervasive structural problem” challenging the best interests of Alberta be addressed swiftly by the federal government before the province questions “the need for independence”.

Signatories to the Declaration include MPs Michelle Rempel Garner (Calgary Nose Hill), Blake Richards (Banff-Airdrie), Glen Motz (Medicine Hat-Cardston-Warner) and Arnold Viersen (Peace River-Westlock).

The demands include:

  • A formal acknowledgement of the harm caused by the National Energy Program
  • Culturally distinct society status
  • Provinces be given exclusive control over resource project approvals
  • The repeal of legislation that hurts the energy industry.
  • Approval for Teck Frontier mine
  • A national energy corridor
  • Promote regulation and tax structures that protect Alberta energy over foreign energy
  • Phase out Equalization
  • Include more Western Canadian justices on the Supreme Court

Further, the Declaration calls for:

“Enable greater access for Western-based journalists to the Parliamentary Press Gallery to ensure widespread coverage of issues facing Alberta within the national news narrative.”

This story has been updated.

Donate to Rebel News

Unlike almost all of our mainstream media competitors, Rebel News doesn’t receive any government funding. We rely on our generous audience to help keep us reporting.


Get Rebel News